Office for Victims of Crime
State-level Replication Guide
 September 2012 Text size: decrease font size increase font size   Send e-mail icon

printer icon Printer-friendly version
About This Guide


The steering committee of the Massachusetts Building Partnerships for the Protection of Persons with Disabilities Initiative (BPI) wishes to acknowledge the many individuals and organizations of BPI for their interest, involvement, and expertise in developing and implementing BPI since 1999. Replication of BPI would not have been possible without the commitment of each of the multidisciplinary team members successfully participating in the initiative across the Commonwealth of Massachusetts, from small rural townships to large metropolitan areas. Their unwavering support and guidance through the development and implementation stages have enhanced the lives of persons with disabilities by ensuring that suspected criminal activity is recognized, reported, investigated, and prosecuted efficiently and effectively. The steering committee wishes to thank OVC for funding this guide, especially Joye Frost, Acting Director, and Jasmine D'Addario-Fobian, Victim Program Specialist, who provided support throughout production of the guide.

Executive Committee, Massachusetts BPI

Elizabeth D. Scheibel, Esq., Cochair
District Attorney (ret.)
Northwestern District

Jonathan W. Blodgett, Esq.
District Attorney
Essex County

Nancy A. Alterio, Cochair
Executive Director
Disabled Persons Protection Commission

Elin M. Howe
Department of Developmental Services

Steering Committee, Massachusetts BPI

Ed Bielecki
State Coordinator
Massachusetts Advocates Standing Strong

Lester Blumberg
General Counsel
Department of Mental Health

Sabrina Cazeau-Class
Director of Investigations
Massachusetts Rehabilitation Commission

Paul Dreyer
Director, Bureau of Health Care Safety and Quality
Department of Public Health

Elizabeth Dunphy Farris, Esq.
Legal Counsel to the District Attorney
Hampden County

Janet Fine
Executive Director
Massachusetts Office for Victim Assistance

Deborah Fogarty
Director of Protective Services
Executive Office of Elder Affairs

Sherman Lohnes
Director of Investigations
Department of Public Health

Anne Monti
Administrative Assistant
Building Partnerships Initiative

Bernard Murphy
Director of Investigations
Department of Developmental Services

Richard Nagle
Detective Lieutenant
State Police Detective Unit
Disabled Persons Protection Commission

Christopher Walsh
Chief, Medical Fraud Division
Office of the Attorney General

Mary Walz-Watson, RN
Sexual Assault Nurse Examiner Program

Geline Williams
Executive Director
Massachusetts District Attorneys Association

NCJ 239107

This product was supported by grant number 2007–VF–GX–K035, awarded by the Office for Victims of Crime, Office of Justice Programs, U.S. Department of Justice. The opinions, findings, and conclusions or recommendations expressed in this product are those of the contributors and do not necessarily represent the official position or policies of the U.S. Department of Justice.

The Office of Justice Programs (OJP) provides federal leadership in developing the Nation's capacity to prevent and control crime, administer justice, and assist victims. OJP has six components: the Bureau of Justice Assistance; the Bureau of Justice Statistics; the National Institute of Justice; the Office of Juvenile Justice and Delinquency Prevention; the Office for Victims of Crime; and the Office of Sex Offender Sentencing, Monitoring, Apprehending, Registering, and Tracking. More information about OJP can be found on its Web site.

U.S. Department of Justice
Eric H. Holder Jr., Attorney General

Office of Justice Programs
Mary Lou Leary, Acting Assistant Attorney General

Office for Victims of Crime
Joye E. Frost, Acting Director