U.S. flag

An official website of the United States government, Department of Justice.


Award Information

Award #
Funding Category
Competitive Discretionary
Congressional District
Funding First Awarded
Total funding (to date)

Description of original award (Fiscal Year 2016, $1,499,027)

The FY 2016 Vision 21 National Identity Theft Victims Assistance Network Expansion (NITVAN II) is a national training, technical assistance, and network expansion effort that builds upon the existing National Identity Theft Victims Assistance Network (NITVAN) program to include cybercrime. The ultimate goal, through building a cadre of network coalitions, is to help improve policy and current service delivery portfolios at the local, state, and regional levels to better address the ongoing needs of and assistance to identity theft victims, including victims of cybercrime.

With this funding, the Identity Theft Resource Center (ITRC) will provide training and technical assistance to the existing 10 NITVAN coalition members and will add 20 new coalitions to the Network over the course of three years that will address the rights and needs of victims of identity theft with a growing emphasis on the needs of identity theft victims via cybercrime. ITRC will build the capacity of the NITVAN network, conduct needs assessments and help each coalition with their own assessments, strategic planning and implementation, and engage an expert team for the project’s steering committee. ITRC will also use its existing technical assistance and policy guidance tools and various publication resources to help the coalitions stay connected, build their capacity and their ability to better address the rights and needs of victims of identity theft.

Date Created: September 30, 2016