U.S. flag

An official website of the United States government, Department of Justice.

Larry Tackman

2010 Ronald Wilson Reagan Public Policy Award | National Crime Victims’ Service Awards

Larry Tackman | Ronald Wilson Reagan Public Policy Award
New Mexico Crime Victims Reparation Commission
Albuquerque, New Mexico

As Director of the New Mexico Crime Victims Reparation Commission since 1990, Larry Tackman has been a diligent and progressive manager of crime victim compensation, victim assistance programs, and victims’ rights in New Mexico. Mr. Tackman has overseen the modernization and expansion of financial assistance to crime victims in his state. He worked to reduce the processing time for crime victim compensation benefit payments from four years to four months, all while claims increased five-fold. 

A staunch believer in the importance of training and professionalization of the crime victims’ field, Mr. Tackman was instrumental in the formation of the annual Advocacy in Action Conference and the Basic Victim Advocacy Training in New Mexico, allowing victim service providers and allied professionals to receive the education and training needed to support the state’s crime victims. Also during his tenure, New Mexico established advanced training for victim service providers and advocates. Mr. Tackman’s contributions extend beyond the borders of New Mexico. 

As the first president of the National Association of Victim of Crime Act Assistance Administrators, he helped establish its mission to focus on the identification and replication of promising practices to improve administrative oversight of funding programs to aid crime victims. Mr. Tackman also served as president and board member of the National Association of Crime Victim Compensation Boards, where his knowledge of victim compensation and assistance programs helped to establish a much needed collaboration and partnership between the two organizations, which would ultimately better support victims’ needs throughout the Nation while maximizing scarce resources. 

Larry Tackman was nominated by Kim Alaburda, Executive Director, New Mexico Coalition of Sexual Assault Programs, Inc.