U.S. flag

An official website of the United States government, Department of Justice.

Diane Moyer, Esq.

2017 Ronald Wilson Reagan Public Policy Award | National Crime Victims’ Service Awards
Watch the tribute video

Diane Moyer, Esq. | Ronald Wilson Reagan Public Policy Award
Harrisburg, Pennsylvania

Diane Moyer was one of a very few representatives that drafted sexual assault provisions during the second authorization of the Violence Against Women Act, and she wrote provisions for the Civil Legal Assistance Grant. Ms. Moyer led the development of the Sexual Assault Services Program that created funding for rape crisis centers and sexual assault coalitions. 

As a member of the National Task Force to End Sexual and Domestic Violence and a member of the Board of Directors of the National Alliance to End Sexual Violence, Ms. Moyer has worked tirelessly to ensure federal legislation addresses the needs of sexual assault victims and has reviewed proposed and pending legislation. Ms. Moyer has developed curricula and trains prosecutors nationwide on the prosecution of non-stranger rape though her faculty position at AEquitas, a national prosecutor training institute. 

While she was Legal Director of the Pennsylvania Coalition Against Rape, she worked to increase penalties for drug-induced rape, to extend the civil statute of limitations for child victims, to create a standardized rape kit for the Commonwealth, to create a statewide plan for the community supervision of sex offenders and to develop and implement a protective order for rape victims. 

Ms. Moyer’s expertise and dedication has been recognized across the country through awards including the National Crime Victim Law Institute’s Victim Advocacy Award, the Victim Rights Law Center’s Leadership Award and the YWCA Violence Intervention Program’s Sara-Alyce P. Wright Award. She is frequently asked to speak on the topic by numerous media outlets.

2017 National Crime Victims' Service Awards Tribute Video

Watch this video to learn more about Diane Moyer, Esq., 2017 recipient of the Ronald Wilson Reagan Public Policy Award.