U.S. flag

An official website of the United States government, Department of Justice.

Joy Solomon, Esq.

2017 Ronald Wilson Reagan Public Policy Award | National Crime Victims’ Service Awards
Watch the tribute video

Joy Solomon, Esq. | Ronald Wilson Reagan Public Policy Award
The Harry and Jeanette Weinberg Center for Elder Abuse Prevention
Riverdale, New York

The Harry and Jeanette Weinberg Center for Elder Abuse Prevention Team is led by Joy Solomon, Esq., whose experience as a New York City Assistant District Attorney with the Special Victims Prosecution Bureau inspired her to build The Weinberg Center. The Weinberg Center offers services and legal action plans to victims of elder abuse. 

More than just a shelter, the Weinberg Center provides victims of elder abuse with the medical treatment and mental health care needed to increase quality of life. An innovator among victim service providers, the leadership of the Weinberg Center has also reached the surrounding communities. Outreach tactics such as education, training programs, advocacy, and public policy initiatives have revolutionized public understanding of elder abuse. 

The work of Ms. Solomon and the other staff at the Weinberg Center has preceded and spurred the development of fourteen new community centers throughout the country providing services to victims of elder abuse. Both individual attorneys and the Weinberg Center at large have achieved major feats in the field of victims’ services. Their accomplishments include but are not limited to the formation of multidisciplinary, multi-system teams providing services for victims in various counties in New York, leadership positions on various legal committees, founding the New York State Bar Association’s Elder Law Section, Elder Abuse Committee, and a partnership with Pace Women’s Justice Center to work on a grant from the Department of Justice.

2017 National Crime Victims' Service Awards Tribute Video

Watch this video to learn more about Joy Solomon, Esq., 2017 recipient of the Ronald Wilson Reagan Public Policy Award.