U.S. flag

An official website of the United States government, Department of Justice.

Dot gov

Official websites use .gov
A .gov website belongs to an official government organization in the United States.


Secure .gov websites use HTTPS
A lock ( ) or https:// means you’ve safely connected to the .gov website. Share sensitive information only on official, secure websites.

Frequently Asked Questions

Enter search criteria

Sort by

The nominee authorizes OVC or its agent to conduct a background check and agrees to participate in all prelude events for National Crime Victims' Rights Week by completing and submitting their part of the nomination form. For more information, visit Acceptance Agreement under Nominee Guidelines.

The recipients are announced each year at the National Crime Victims' Service Awards Ceremony. OVC staff will notify award recipients with enough time to make travel arrangements prior to the ceremony. The nominees that are not selected to move forward through the tiered review process will be notified, as well.

View the Award Gallery to learn about past recipients and their accomplishments.

The National Victim Assistance Academy (NVAA) is a training classroom for professionals and volunteers who assist victims and survivors of crime. The NVAA utilizes a blended learning approach including a combination of highly interactive self-paced trainings and collaborative, facilitated webinars. Continuing education units (CEUs) are awarded to participants for full participation. For more information, visit the NVAA section of the OVC TTAC website.