U.S. flag

An official website of the United States government, Department of Justice.

Save the Date: OVC Tribal Consultation on the Tribal Victim Services Set-Aside Program on November 9, 2022


OVC will host a virtual Tribal Consultation on the Tribal Victim Services Set-Aside (TVSSA) from the Crime Victims Fund for Fiscal Year 2023 on Wednesday, November 9, 2022, from 2:00−4:00 p.m., eastern time/1:00−3:00 p.m., central time/12:00−2:00 p.m., mountain time/11:00 a.m.−1:00 p.m., pacific time/ 10:00 a.m.-12:00 p.m., Alaska time.

Information about the Tribal Consultation and other upcoming events will be available on our TVSSA page.

Consultation testimony can be provided by—

  • an elected Tribal leader,
  • an appointed Tribal leader, or
  • someone designated by an elected or appointed Tribal leader (designation must be provided in writing).

If you are a Tribal leader's designee to speak at the Consultation, we ask that you send a Delegation of Authority letter on Tribal letterhead signed by the elected or appointed Tribal leader to us at:

Office for Victims of Crime
Attn: Katherine Darke Schmitt
810 Seventh Street NW, Second Floor
Washington, DC  20531

Or the elected or appointed Tribal leader can email us at [email protected] to confirm their authorization to testify on behalf of the Tribe. Instructions for how to submit your testimony will be available after you register. Written testimony will be welcomed via email to [email protected] through Wednesday, November 30, 2022.

In addition to the virtual Tribal Consultation, OVC plans to host an in-person Listening Session before the 17th National Indian Nations Conference, scheduled for December 6–9, 2022, at the Agua Caliente Band of Cahuilla Indians Reservation in Palm Springs, California. This Listening Session will be held on Tuesday, December 6, 2022, from 9:00–11:30 a.m. All interested persons will have an opportunity to offer feedback about the TVSSA, and other matters to enhance services for victims of crime within Tribal communities. Written feedback will be welcomed via email to [email protected] through Saturday, December 31, 2022.

We look forward to hearing from you in November and seeing you in December. Please email any questions to [email protected].

Date Published: September 20, 2022